NORTHWOOD DESIGN INC.
HOME BUILDER IN NORTHERN WISCONSIN

Ph: (715) 479-7532 or (715)
617-1917  
EMAIL US

Northwood Design, Inc. BBB Business Review
 

BACK TO
HOME PAGE

FEATURED
HOMES
THE AFFORDABLE
HOME/CABIN
VIEW OUR UNIQUE METHOD OF CONSTRUCTION
TESTIMONIALS
ABOUT US
CONTACT
US
HOMES &
PROPERTY
FOR SALE
SITEMAP
LINKS
 
Want To Link?
We are looking for other websites to link with.  Only websites that are related to home construction will be considered!
(click to request a link)
TESTIMONIAL LETTERS

Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction.  Here's what some of our clients say:


Hi Tom,

After working in the construction trades in Chicago for over 42 years, my standards were very high in design and quality craftsmanship.  Northwood Design enabled me to have both plus a lot more.  Tom Suriano and his workers were great to work with from start to finish.

Thank you for building our dream home.

Jim & Val Rybarczyk
November 4, 2008

 

Hi Tom,

Enclosed is a check for work done at Dollar Lake Cottage.  The shower turned out very nice.  GOOD WORK.

Thanks

Warren
July 19, 2008

 

Tom,

We have now been in our home that you built for about one year.  It is our “Lake Dream Home”. The quality and functionality of the home is just what we wanted. I still remember all the changes that I suggested. You always responded quickly and would agree to the changes or enlighten me on what would not work.

We live out-of-state during the winter, so during the construction you kept us up-to-date with pictures and phone calls. The house was completed on time and the workmanship is outstanding.

I recommend Tom to anyone desiring a Quality Home and a Quality Builder.

Regards,

Len and Kathleen Laskowski

July 13, 2008

 

 

Dear Tom,

Michael and I want to thank you for a job well done.  We are so pleased with the house you built for us in Three Lakes.  It was a very simple process even though it was done long distance.  I must admit going into the project we were concerned with you being in Wisconsin and us being in Texas.  But again, you made it simple and hassle free.  The funny part about the whole process was that you were more the perfectionist than us.
     Whenever an issue came up we found in most cases your idea was perfect,  Once more thank you for building our dream Lake House.  We know it was an unusual house for you, not the typical lake house, but again you did a great job.  In the future should a new client of yours care to talk to us regarding our experience with you, I will be happy to tell them how the project went.

Best Regards,

Larry Hokanson
October 15. 2007

 

Hi Tom,

As promised, I'm finally getting around to writing a long overdue THANK YOU for the outstanding log home you built for Sarah and me on Cranberry Lake.  Our new "Northwoods Escape" couldn't have turned out any better!  As you know, this was the 2nd log home you've built for us and it speaks volumes about our previous experience and relationship with you and your talented and dedicated "craftsman"  that we never even considered another builder.
     After living in our previous log home for several years, we had a "wish list" for our new home, and in collaboration in the design process we were able to incorporate almost all of our ideas.  We are extremely pleased with the quality, appearance and livability of our new home.  The first home you built for us was awesome, this one is even better.  As before, anytime you want to show our home to a prospective client, you are more that welcome to and we are more than happy to provide any references for you and the Northwood Design experience.

Thanks again

Jeff & Sarah Thomson
October 2, 2006

 

Dear Tom,

My wife and I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the beautiful home you built for us on Lighthouse Lodge Rd.  You have made our dream of a beautiful lake home come true.

Also we want to thank you for making the project enjoyable.  We had visions of it being very difficult due to the distance we lived form the project and some unfortunate experiences we had with previous contractors.  We cannot say enough about all the positives you brought to the project.

· First of all your professionalism was outstanding in working with a client.

· Your experience in the building profession was noted from the moment we began the building plans.

· Your almost daily communication with us as to the progress of the project plus your insight as to what you felt was needed to be added or changed was remarkable.

· Equally impressive was not only your professionalism and timeliness but the professionalism  and timeliness of your subcontractors.  In having built homes previously, working with subcontractors can be very challenging.  Your working relationship with the subcontractors and their understanding of the quality you expect was very noticeable.

We have said many times that we would highly recommend you to anyone who contacted us.  Not only would we but have already as in the last several weeks many of the neighbors have come through the house and asked about who the builder was as they have friends who are thinking about building or remodeling and we without hesitation recommend you at every turn.

Best Wishes

Larry & Doris Schauff
May 16, 2006

 

Dear Tom,

     Sue and I want you to know how pleased we are with our new home on Finger Lake.  Of course, having purchased the home after completion, we did not participate in the usual builder/customer design and decor decisions.  However, we could not be happier with the end result.
     Friends and relatives who visit continue to comment about the exceptional quality and attention to detail.  Please do not hesitate to use us for a reference if you so desire.  Thanks for a job very well done!

Sue & Mike Carswell
April 8, 2006

 

Hi Tom,

Happy New Year!  Hope things are going well with you and you're keeping busy.

Enclosed is our check in the amount of $13,646.15.  This represents payment in full for the construction of our home.  Don't spend it all in one place.  We are very pleased with the way things turned out.  It was a true joy working with and your staff (a great bunch of guys).  The work performed was perfection and anytime there was an issue, it was always handled to our satisfaction.  Keep up the great work in building quality homes. 

Just a reminder, there are still some things left for you to finish when we get our act together and finish what needs to be done in order for you to come back in.

Hopefully, this will all be over soon and then we go out for a drink and maybe even pizza, OUR TREAT.  See you soon!

PS.  Hi to Jeanne

Ron & Roxy Klotz
January 13, 2006

 

Reference Letter Re:  Northwood Design

We interviewed numerous custom home builders prior to hiring Tom Suriano and Northwood Design.  The project involved the complete restoration and remodeling of a Circa 1930 Eagle River Chain of Lakes Estate Home.  Northwood Design undertook the project employing creativity, engineering expertise and integrity.  The project was completed on time and within budget.  Throughout the project Northwood Design was always looking out for our interest.  The work took place while we were in Florida.  As a result, Northwood Design seamlessly kept us apprised via frequent e mails and digital photos.  Each phase of the job required a creative and competent approach to unique challenges and Tom Suriano and Northwood Design were up to the task. 

Since the completion of this project, we have used Northwood Design to build several new custom log homes.  Each home was completed on schedule, within budget, and to our complete satisfaction.  Without a doubt, our experience with Tom Suriano and Northwood Design continues to be the best custom home building experience we have encountered. 

Sincerely,

Robert and Theresa Mason
November, 2005

 

 

Tom,

     Both Gale and I would like to take this moment and say "Thank you very much" for the beautiful home that you have built for us in the Wisconsin Northwoods.  As you are aware, I have had a multitude of properties - both commercial and residential - built for me in the past.  Without question, this experience with you and your company far outweighs any of the other projects in a very positive manner.
     We have often referred to the construction of this home as "built like a battleship".  By that we mean the solid feeling, the warmth and the strength that the home projects, gives a sense of true quality in design and workmanship.  And of course, the finish work also speaks of quality.
     To conclude, it was reassuring to us both that whenever we had a concern during construction, you always made us feel comfortable in discussing it with you.  If you ever would like a reference, we would be happy to speak with any prospective clients in the future.  Any opportunity to boast about our new home would be a pleasure.

Sincerely,

Fran and Gale Bloemers
January 11, 2005
 

 

Dear Tom,

     Mary and I wanted to write and express our thanks for the quality job that you and your crew completed on our cabin in Phelps.  This project is one that our family had waited 15 years to begin.
     We could not have chosen a finer builder.  You not only shared our vision, but improved upon it.  It is your design that gives our log sided cabin it's Northwood's  ambiance.
      All aspects of the construction were completed with great attention to detail, with precision cuts and top quality materials.  Our cabin has a unique shape with challenging roof lines and several unique angles.  We have been continually impressed with the precision of the craftsmanship inside and out.  Speaking of inside, the log staircase is a work of art in wood.
     As you know, after you and your crew completed the shell, we've tackled much of the work ourselves.  You have remained a valued consultant to us on many aspects of the project.  From electrical work to insulation, vapor barriers, plumbing and heating - we truly appreciate your responsiveness to the call we occasionally make seeking your advice and opinions.
      Thank you for being responsive to our questions and desires, for being accountable for the quality of the work and for being honest in all aspects of this business relationship.  We would be honored to provide a reference or to show the cabin to any prospective clients who are considering Northwood Design.

Sincerely,

Mark and Mary Hendrickson
October 25, 2004

 

Tom,

     We want to tell you how pleased we are with our chalet log style home you built for us on Finger Lake in Eagle River.  It was meant to be when we ran into you that October day of 2002.  From start to finish it was a pleasure working with you and knowing you had control of building our dream home.  The quality of craftsmanship is excellent and the attention to detail really shows.  There are many different things that impressed us along the way, but the one thing that stands out is when the log siding arrived and it didn't meet your expectations and you sent it back.  I'm sure many builders would have said it's good enough, but not you.  And your crew was so friendly and always went out of their way to please.  I would recommend to anyone to make sure they talk to the great team at Northwood Design before they talk to anyone else.  Thanks again for a job very well done!

Lon & Gaye Behm
November 11, 2003

 

Dear Tom,

     I would like to express my overall satisfaction with my new home.  I am no stranger to the building industry and regularly deal with contractors and tradesmen in Chicago.  My dealings with you and your company were among the best that I have ever experienced.  Your knowledge of architecture, design and carpentry are a major asset to anyone building a new home.  I found you to be insightful, flexible and a pleasure to work with.  You were always responsive and most importantly, "reachable".  Your cost were reasonable, fair and extremely competitive when compared with bids I had received from the larger companies in the area.
     Each member of your crew appreciated the fact I was building my dream home and undertook to complete the job in a first rate manner.  Your ability to finish the project on time (in fact before our scheduled completion date) is certainly a unique experience when building a new home.  The finished product is better than I had imagined.  I have had many guest to my new house and each has commented on the quality of the overall workmanship as well as the finishing details such as the custom made door and window trim and the uniformity of the stain and color throughout the house.
     Many people that build a new home always seem to have complaints with the builder and the overall process.  I have none.  I would encourage anyone considering the construction of a new home to engage your company and crew to build them their dream home.

Sincerely.

Zack D. Wagman
September 2, 2002

 

Tom,

     Just wanted to drop you a long overdue note to say how much we LOVE our house.  As you know, the home was started before we were in the picture and it was so reassuring to work with you on the completion of it.  We've built before and have found it to be rewarding but time consuming:  we were checking on it most every day.  It was so rewarding building with you because you are so easy to work with and we knew we could trust you to do a wonderful job - and you did!!! We have had such peace of mind with our little get-away up north because you have delivered such a quality product and you have stood behind it!!
     We are looking forward to working with you again and will recommend you to everyone we know!!!

Thanks Again!!

Greg & Jenni Vlack
July 24, 2002

 

Hi Tom,

     Your call asking to show our log home to a prospective client reminded me that we have to thank you again for the outstanding home you built for us.  Our decision for a builder came to a choice between Northwood Design and a "big name" log home builder.  Without doubt, we made the right choice. We are proud to "show off" our one-of-a-kind cabin to friends and relatives - everyone has been "blown away" by how great it turned out.  Not only did you build a high quality, "pride of craftsmanship" home, you made it easy to include all the ideas that make our place unique.  Best of all, you did it for significantly less than the "big name".
     Please feel free to use us as a reference or call if you'd like any future showings.

Thank you

Jeff Thomson
April 11, 2002

 

Dear Tom,

     As I get ready to head up to Eagle River for the upcoming summer, I can not help but think what a great experience it will be thanks to you.
     The home you built me is simply my dream house.  Its beautiful, solid,
crafted with care and I'm proud to own it.
     You were the only builder that I called way back when that responded promptly, and I'm glad you did.  It was a  pleasure to work with you.  Especially as an out of town homebuyer, you made the process as simple as possible.  You treated the project as if it was your home and it is obvious.
     Once again, thanks for a great home and a great upcoming summer.  I hope the same for you and Northwood Design.  Take care.

Steve Kanefsky
Owner/Director Camp Menominee
March 19, 2002